Antimicrobial foam gaskets for sealing of air conditioning plants

The Institute for Air Hygiene (ILH Berlin) has tested the foam seals Fermapor® K31-A-9020-17F and K31-A-9308-5-VP5-F as well as the potting product Fermadur®-A-196- 4F with regard to their resistance to fungi and bacteria according to DIN EN ISO 846 (Evaluation of the action of microorganisms on plastics). They are developed by Sonderhoff especially for sealing or potting of filters used in air conditioning systems. The test results show that the sealing and potting material from Sonderhoff does not serve as a nutrient source for microorganisms. Special additives in the material formulation of the antimicrobial foam seals Fermapor® K31 effectively protect the sealings of climate-technical components for air distribution, such as ventilation grilles, air filter, nebulizer and access locks, against attack by harmful microorganisms.

The heating, ventilation and air conditioning manufacturers demand for their sealings and especially for the sealing and bonding of air filters special requirements in order to meet the hygiene requirements for HVAC systems according to VDI 6022. In particular air filters of these plants, which are to improve the climatic conditions of interiors, are often the cause of contamination of indoor air. Because accumulation of microorganisms on air filters is the cause of potent allergy risks when such contaminated air is inhaled by humans and animals. Especially at increasing temperatures, the concentration of microorganisms significantly increases and the fungal spores develop a higher vitality. Such conditions are a fertile breeding ground for germs which can cause infections in humans.

Air conditioning systems need to be serviced regularly in order to work properly and ensure a good indoor climate. Here, among other things, the leakage-free seat of air filters is checked which is provided by perfect foam sealings and in optimal cases with an antimicrobial protection.


Printed on 2017-12-14

Antimikrobielle Schaumdichtungen für das Abdichten von RLT-Anlagen

Das Institut für Lufthygiene (ILH Berlin) hat die von Sonderhoff speziell für RLT-Anlagen entwickelten Schaumdichtungen Fermapor® K31-A-9020-17F und K31-A-9308-5-VP5-F sowie das Vergussprodukt Fermadur®-A-196-4F auf ihre Widerstandsfähigkeit gegenüber Pilzen und Bakterien nach DIN EN ISO 846 (Bestimmung der Einwirkung von Mikroorganismen auf Kunststoffe) untersucht. Die Prüfungsergebnisse belegen, dass das Dichtungsmaterial von Sonderhoff nicht als Nährstoffquelle für Mikroorganismen dient. Spezielle Additive in der Materialrezeptur der antimikrobiellen Fermapor® K31 Schaumdichtungen sorgen für den wirksamen Schutz der Abdichtungen von klimatechnischen Bauteilen zur Luftverteilung, wie zum Beispiel Lüftungsgitter, Luftfilter, Zerstäuber und Zugangsschleusen, gegen einen Befall mit gesundheitsschädlichen Mikroorganismen.

Die Hersteller von Lüftungs- und Klimatechnik stellen an die in ihren Anlagen eingebauten Dichtungen sowie vor allem für das Abdichten und Verkleben von Luftfiltern besondere Anforderungen, um die Hygieneanforderungen an raumlufttechnische Anlagen (RLT-Anlagen) nach VDI 6022 zu erfüllen. Insbesondere die Luftfilter dieser Anlagen, welche die klimatischen Bedingungen von Innenräumen gerade verbessern sollen, sind oft der Grund für Kontaminationen der Innenraumluft. Denn die auf Luftfiltern stattfindende Akkumulation von Mikroorganismen stellt ein potentes Allergierisiko dar, wenn die damit kontaminierte Luft von Mensch und Tier eingeatmet wird. Speziell bei ansteigenden Temperaturen nimmt die Konzentration der Mikroorganismen deutlich zu und die Pilzsporen entwickeln eine höhere Vitalität. Solche Bedingungen sind ein guter Nährboden für Krankheitskeime und -erreger, die bei Menschen Infektionen auslösen können.

Damit Klimaanlagen einwandfrei funktionieren und für ein gutes Raumklima sorgen, müssen sie daher regelmäßig gewartet werden. Dabei wird unter anderem auch der Leckage freie Sitz der Luftfilter durch optimale Abdichtungen, die im besten Fall mit einem antimikrobiellen Schutz versehen sind, überprüft.


Printed on 2017-12-15