Fraunhofer ITWM provides simulation solutions for Filtration applications

Filters are used in many industries and daily life. They protect people from toxic or allergic substances and ensure operability of tools and machines. Filters must be adjusted to their operating conditions. Clean room filters must collect the tiniest particles. Oil filters must have a much lower flow resistivity. Every filtration application requires its own specific solution.

The traditional method is to build and test prototypes. This is time-consuming and expensive because key performance factor such as the pressure drop, filter efficiency, and filter capacity are governed by the complex interaction of many factors. On the microscopic level, such factors include the physical, chemical and geometric properties of fibers used in filter media, the spatial arrangement of the fibers in the filter media, the physical and chemical properties of the gas or liquid as well as size, mass and shape of dust particles. On the macroscopic scale of the entire filter element, the interplay between the shapes of the housing and the media (e.g. pleated or flat) the combination of different filtering media etc. is crucial to the performance of the final product.

Since 2001, the Fraunhofer Institute for Industrial Mathematics (ITWM) developed the GeoDict software. GeoDict predicts filtration properties based on three-dimensional models of the microstructure of filter media and direct numerical simulation of the relevant processes. The microstructure can be generated based on given specification of the filter media, or loaded into the software based on three-dimensional input data from computer tomography of the filter media. By use of a flow solver which is specialized in the treatment of complex microscopic structures, quantities such as the permeability of the medium can be determined. Based on the particle size distribution, the FilterDict module considers the different filtration mechanisms in order to compute the filtration efficiency and distribution of deposited particles, covering both the depth and the cake filtration stage. By taking into account the flow resistance due to the deposited dust, the increase in the pressure drop can be predicted by simulating the flow through the loaded medium. On top of that, GeoDict allows the user to edit the microstructure (virtual material design) and study the effect of the changes, leading to a substantial reduction of the time and cost usually spent on experimental testing of prototypes. Since January 2013, the Math2Market GmbH, a spin-off of Fraunhofer ITWM, continues the development and marketing of GeoDict.

Since 2002, the Fraunhofer ITWM has developed models and numerical methods which assist the engineers in the design of the entire filter element. This expertise has flown into FiltEST, the Filter Element Simulation Toolbox. FiltEST enables designers of filter elements to have a computer-aided assessment of the performance properties of an element’s design at a very early stage of the developmental process. It provides modules for importing CAD geometries, computing the flow field in the element, the filtration efficiency and the evolution of the differential pressure during the operation of the device. The simulation results are exported to file formats for effective 3D visualization and further post-processing.

FiltEST and GeoDict can be coupled such that the filtration process at both the micro- and the macro-scale can be simulated hand in hand, reflecting the complex interplay of phenomena occurring on the two scales. GeoDict and FIltEST are major cornerstones towards the virtual design of filter materials and filter elements.

In practical applications, the structural mechanics of filtering media has become more and more relevant. For the microscopic scale, there are simulation tools for the computation of effective elastic properties of filtering media, based on the data of the fiber material (FeelMath, ElastoDict). These results can be used to predict the flow-induced deformation of the filter media on the macroscopic scale of the element.

Fraunhofer ITWM will present these and many more developments in the area of filtration and separation again at the FILTECH 2018 in Cologne, Stand A9


Printed on 2017-12-12

ITWM bietet simulationsbasierte Lösungen für Filtrationsanwendungen

Filter werden in vielen Bereichen der Industrie und des täglichen Lebens eingesetzt. Sie schützen Menschen vor toxischen oder allergenen Stoffen und erhalten die Funktionsfähigkeit von Maschinen. Vor allem müssen Filter an ihren jeweiligen Einsatzbereich angepasst sein. Reinraumfilter müssen selbst kleinste Staubpartikel aus der Luft filtern, Ölfilter hingegen müssen im Hinblick auf den Differenzdruck weitaus durchlässiger sein. Für jede Filtrationsanwendung existiert also eine ganz spezifische Lösung.

Konventionell werden Prototypen konstruiert und getestet. Dies ist sehr zeit- und kostenaufwändig, da sowohl die Filtereffizienz als auch die Aufnahmekapazität von Filtern durch das komplexe Zusammenspiel vieler Faktoren bestimmt werden. Zu den Faktoren zählen auf der Ebene der Filtermedien u.a. die physikalisch-chemischen und geometrischen Eigenschaften der Einzelfasern, die räumliche Anordnung der Fasern im Filtergewebe, die physikalisch-chemischen Eigenschaften der Flüssigkeit sowie Größe, Masse und Form der zu filternden Partikel. Auf der Ebene der Filterelemente sind u.a. die Gehäuseform, die Form der eingesetzten Filtermedien (z.B. gefaltet und/oder flach) und die Kombination verschiedenartiger Medien in einem Filterelement als interagierende Einflussfaktoren entscheidend für die Leistung des Bauteils.

Das Fraunhofer-Institut für Techno- und Wirtschaftsmathematik in Kaiserslautern entwickelte seit 2001 die Software GeoDict. Mit GeoDict können die Filtrationseigenschaften eines Filtermediums virtuell ermittelt werden. Die Mikrostruktur, die das Filtermedium in der Simulation repräsentiert, kann entweder virtuell nach Vorgabe bestimmter Spezifikationen erzeugt oder aus der Rekonstruktion von drei-dimensionalen Computertomografien realer Filter gewonnen werden. Durch eine speziell für komplexe Materialstrukturen entwickelte Strömungssimulation sind wichtige Eigenschaften wie z. B. die Permeabilität der Mikrostruktur ermittelbar. Das Modul FilterDict berücksichtigt die unterschiedlichen Filtrationsmechanismen für große und kleine Partikel und berechnet die Filtereffizienz sowie die Verteilung der Schmutzbeladung des Filters (Tiefen- und Kuchenfiltration). Durch Berücksichtigung des Strömungswiderstandes der abgelagerten Partikel kann der Differenzdruck bei Durchströmung des beladenen Mediums bestimmt werden. Die Mikrostruktur kann mit GeoDict auch verändert werden (virtuelles Materialdesign), was den Bedarf an aufwändigen Tests mit real erzeugten Medien reduziert. Seit Januar 2013 wird GeoDict von der Math2Market GmbH, einer Ausgründung des Fraunhofer ITWM, weiterentwickelt und vermarktet.

Seit 2002 entwickelt das Fraunhofer ITWM Modelle und numerische Methoden, die Ingenieure bei der Auslegung des gesamten Filterelements unterstützt. Diese Kenntnisse und Erfahrungen sind nun in FiltEST, der Filter Element Simulation Toolbox, gebündelt worden. FiltEST versetzt die Entwickler von Filterelementen in die Lage, frühzeitig und zuverlässig Qualität und Leistungsfähigkeit eines Designs einzuschätzen. Die Software beinhaltet u.a. Module zum Importieren von CAD-Geometrien und Berechnungsmodule für die Vorhersage des Strömungsfeldes, der Filtrationseffizienz sowie der Differenzdruckentwicklung bei Beladung. Die Simulationsergebnisse werden in Datenformate für die effektive 3D-Visualisierung und weitere Post-Processing-Schritte exportiert.

GeoDict und FiltEST können auch miteinander gekoppelt eingesetzt werden, so dass die Simulation von Filtrationsprozessen auch das komplexe Zusammenspiel von Effekten auf der Mikro- und der Makroskalenebene widerspiegelt. GeoDict und FiltEST sind deshalb wesentliche Schritte in Richtung des virtuellen Designs von Filterelementen und -medien.

In praktischen Anwendungen werden die strukturmechanischen Eigenschaften von Filtermedien immer relevanter. Für die Mikrostruktur sind bereits Simulationswerkzeuge vorhanden, mit deren Hilfe die effektiven elastischen Eigenschaften eines Mediums aus den Daten des Fasermaterials berechnet werden können (FeelMath, ElastoDict). Diese Ergebnisse können dann für die Simulation der strömungsinduzierten Verformung des Mediums auf Gehäuseebene benutzt werden.

Das Fraunhofer ITWM präsentiert diese und viele andere Entwicklungen auf dem Gebiet der Filtration und Separation wieder auf der FILTECH 2018 in Köln, Stand A9.


Printed on 2017-12-18